My Studio(s)

Alyson's StudioThis is a photo taken in my studio. It’s at home. It’s a home to my little creations. It’s small. But I do love it. I have had several studios in Denver. My first studio was in the basement right outside the door of our little apartment in the Hylands neighborhood in North Denver. In 2001,  I moved into my first real studio at The Coop space down by the old Flour Mill that used to be called The Inferno. Grant Williams, Cat Redfern, Eric Pruett were some of my studio mates.

A month after I moved into my studio, I found out I was pregnant with my son Dondi. I stayed my whole pregnancy in this studio and moved out about 2 weeks before I gave birth.

My next studio was at the Logan Street Studiosat 19th & Logan, run by Phil Bender. This building used to be an old Catholic High School and the studio spaces were the old classrooms.  I had a huge old classroom on the second floor. Lots of windows and light. This building was torn down in 2003.

 In 2004, I moved back into the Coop space. I stayed for another year. Then in 2005 I moved my studio to my homeAlyson's Studio which is where these photos come from.

Having a studio in my home is convenient since I have 2 small children and can sneak in there when I get a chance. It is amazing what I can pull off in 20 minutes. If you know what you want to do, and the steps to take, you can accomplish a lot in a little bit of time.

Leave a Reply

